a brief history of things…

Hi!

Welcome to my the Art Brut Sessions. I’ve decided to start another blog to document my first year of teaching and to showcase all the wonderful student examples from my classes. Hopefully, somewhere there are other teachers or artists or even students who will happen to stumble upon this site and find a bit of inspiration along the way. This will officially be my first year of teaching, but I’ve been a blogging enthusiast for almost three years now. You can check out my personal journal, here.

It took me awhile to come up with a name for the blog. In the long run, I would like for this blog to not just be random musings from another teacher, but rather, a journal of sorts that would help myself as I begin my first year teaching. The term Art Brut (pronounced broot) was first coined by Jean DuBuffet to describe art which was created by those outside of the mainstream art establishments, including asylum inmates and children. The term, whose English translation is “raw art” is best summarized by DuBuffet,

“Those works created from solitude and from pure and authentic creative impulses – where the worries of competition, acclaim and social promotion do not interfere – are, because of these very facts, more precious than the productions of professionals.”

The first six weeks of school has already come and gone now, and I am still constantly in awe of the things that I am learning about my creative students. So here’s to the very first post of this blog. More images to come!

Ms. Pham

Leave a Reply

