Van Gogh Parody

When I told my students to think of their favorite cartoon character or a character from pop culture over the weekend break, they became really excited about the prospect of incorporating their own personalities into their assignment. I have to admit, I was a bit apprehensive about this project when I planned this lesson out in my head. Painting in the style of Van Gogh is more tedious than it looks, and I didn’t want to burn any of my kids out. I can’t say how happy I am with how their paintings have turned out though. The variations in their painting styles are so gorgeous and wildly expressive, it’s hard to find any single favorite piece. When I asked them how they felt after spending 2 long weeks on one project, they said that it was probably one of their more favorite assignments. Do you recognize any of these characters?

Ana G.

Thristian S.M.

Leslie R.

Ronaldo S.

Brandon P.

Ivy M.

Leave a Reply

