Ceramic houses…

          Last year when I first taught clay, we made animal piggy banks using the pinch and cylinder technique. This year, I really wanted to challenge my older students and try using more advanced techniques with slab to make larger birdhouses. And even though the students were a bit skeptical at the idea of making ceramic birdhouses when I first mentioned it to them, they were really happy with the results. To get them motivated and hyped up for the project, I created a power point presentation with lots of examples of ceramic birdhouses ranging from traditional houses to whimsical animal-shaped ones and modern birdhouses with clean and simple lines. I think having a visual image of the possibilities with this assignment was very helpful. I’m really proud of what these students have been making and can’t wait to see what happens when they glaze them this week.

 

Leave a Reply

