Tint & Shade Underwater Painting

I found this lesson on Pinterest and decided to use for my lesson on painting using only Tints and Shades. The painting required more tedious work than I anticipated and it showed as the students progressed throughout the project. it was a bit tricky for students to paint within the boundaries of their lines, although I have to say some the more expressive and painterly ones turned out just as awesome. The one below, especially, reminds of the textures of an Egon Schiele piece of work. I found the process of painting each grid to be very therapeutic when I did have the time to sit and paint during my off periods.

(image above by Ms. Pham)

Leave a Reply

